Boston Aquarium Society Message Board

A forum for members and guests of the BAS
It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 3:40 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Cambridge Water
PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 12:44 pm 
Offline
Fishkeeper
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 1:57 am
Posts: 5
Location: Cambridge, MA.
I noticed that even after doing a large water change in my tank that I was showing a high level of ammonia. So I just tested my water directly from the tap and I show 1.0ppm of ammonia. I've read this could be due to Cambridge using Chloramine instead of Chlorine in their water treatment. How are others from Cambridge treating their tap water before using it in their tanks? Have you found any other issues with the tap? I have written to the CWD for a copy of their periodic water report that they generate for the EPA (curious now what I'm drinking!)

Would treating my water with PRIME be the best solution during water changes?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cambridge Water
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 10:03 am 
Offline
Former BAS Board
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 2:05 pm
Posts: 1062
Location: Boston
PRIME would be my first choice - I suspect that all of the water systems in Central and Eastern Mass are using chloramine now...

_________________
Rich
_______
Part-time fishguy at Uncle Ned's Fish Factory (saturdays)
_______
Species I am currently keeping/breeding include :
Copadichromis borleyi "redfin"
Labidochromis caeruleus yellow labs
Aulonocara sp. "Lwanda"
Ancistrus cf. cirrhosus "Super Red Ancistris"
Xiphophorus montezumae Montezuma Swordtails
_______
(I'm in the middle of resetting and redesigning my fishroom - so things are kinda quiet)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cambridge Water
PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 10:27 pm 
Offline
Fishkeeper
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 10:33 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Andover Ma
Here in N.Andover I get 0.50 - 1.00 I do use Prime is a must have = D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cambridge Water
PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 10:29 am 
Offline
Fishkeeper

Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 9:40 pm
Posts: 12
I use Prime as well to treat my tap water... after I pass it through a peat moss filter to bring the pH from 8.6+ to just below neutral. The water in Boston isn't always the easiest to work with :P


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cambridge Water
PostPosted: Sat May 04, 2013 4:22 pm 
Offline
Fishkeeper

Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:15 pm
Posts: 3
Not technically a question about Cambridge Water but didn't want to open a whole new thread.
I am using Cambridge water though.

I am doing a water change for my daughter's new betta. I have left water to "off gas" for three days.
I am ready to do a partial water change...but I cannot remember if I put the dechlorinating chemicals in already...

Would it be harmful if I did it again (if I have done it already) The tank really needs some water changed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cambridge Water
PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 9:06 pm 
Offline
Fishkeeper

Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 8:48 pm
Posts: 4
@kdfishhq

I'm using Amquel and it specifically states on the bottle that super-dosing isn't toxic, and the formula is said to work within 5 min of application.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cambridge Water
PostPosted: Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:26 am 
Offline
Fishkeeper

Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:15 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks for your reply to my May question. The fish has lived till now so I hypothesize that if I overdosed it was not toxic.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group